IFEM Organizational Chart


IFEM is a public Company limited by guarantee and was incorporated in 2010. Its activities are governed by a Constitution and Bylaws.

Up until 2011, the IFEM Board was made up of a representative from each member country.  An Executive of six office-bearers was created in 2006 to improve responsiveness.  With the growth in membership to over 65 member organisations, it was agreed that a new Board of 12 members would be established in 2012.  This Board comprises 6 office-bearers, plus representatives from 6 geographic regions - Africa, Asia, Australasia, Europe, North America and South America. 

The former Board has been replaced by an Assembly, comprising one voting representative from each of the Founding members and one voting representative from each Full member.  Representatives of Affiliate members may attend and participate in Assembly meetings but do not have the right to vote.  The Assembly’s primary purpose is to ratify or reject proposals brought forward by either the Board or the Executive.  The Assembly has the final decision-making power for major issues related to the IFEM.

IFEM Board 2014 - 2016

Executive:                      President:                          Dr C. James Holliman (ACEP)
                                     Immediate Past President:  Prof Peter Cameron (ACEM)
                                     President-elect                   Prof Lee Wallis (EMSSA)
                                     Vice-President                    Dr James Ducharme (CAEP)
                                     Treasurer:                         Dr Andrew Singer (ACEM)
                                     Secretary:                          Dr Robert Schafermeyer (ACEP)

Board Representatives:   Africa:                               Dr Melanie Stander (EMSSA)
                                     Asia:                                  Dr Kang Hyun Lee (KSEM)
                                     Australasia:                        Dr Anthony Cross (ACEM)
                                     Central and South America: Dr Edgardo Menendez (SAE)
                                     Europe:                              Prof Juliusz Jakubaszko (PSEM)
                                     North America:                   Dr Terrence Mulligan (ACEP)

IFEM Committees

IFEM Special Interest Groups