Specialty Implementation Committee

Specialty Implementation Committee

Role of the Specialty Implementation Committee

The Specialty Implementation Committee (SIC) was constituted in 2005 and aims to fulfill the broad goals of IFEM, which are ‘to promote access to, and lead the development of, the highest quality of emergency medical care for all people.

The general purpose of the SIC is to assist countries in which emergency medicine is developing towards specialty status.  It is understood that this is a huge and complex issue and that there is a certain amount of cross-over in the work done by committees, in particular with the Core Curriculum and Education and Clinical Practice committees.

The specific objectives of the committee are:

  • To develop reference materials relevant and a list of appropriate consultants to help develop the speciality of emergency medicine in countries where the speciality is yet to mature and
  • To be responsible for drafting responses to specific requests by physicians for speciality development assistance.

If you’re looking for support from the Specialty Implementation Committee we encourage you to contact us.


Associate Professor Elizabeth Devos | Chair
American College of Emergency Physicians

Elizabeth DeVos MD, MPH, FACEP is an Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine at the University of Florida College of Medicine-Jacksonville where she is Assistant Chair for Faculty Development and the Medical Director for International EM Education Programs. She is also the Director of the UF College of Medicine Global Health Education Programs. After completing her EM residency at UF-Jacksonville,  Dr DeVos completed a fellowship in International Emergency Medicine at George Washington University.  She has partnered in the development of EM Specialty Training in several countries, including living and working in Kigali, Rwanda as faculty in the first EM residency. Dr DeVos has served the American College of Emergency Physicians as a member of the International Section’s executive committee and chairs the ACEP Ambassador Program. She previously served the SIC as deputy chair and lead the working group to publish, “How to Start and Operate a National Emergency Medicine Specialty Organisation.”

Dr Saravana Kamur | Vice Chair
Society of Emergency Medicine India

Dr Saravana Kumar completed his Emergency Medicine Training from India and MBA in Hospital Management from BITS,Pilani. He is the current GM and Unit Head of Dr Mehta’s Hospitals Chennai and leads Quality and patient safety across the organization and a Consultant in Emergency Medicine at Dr Mehta’s Hospitals, Chennai. He started his career at Dr Mehta’s as Head of Emergency Department. Dr Saravanakumar is currently the National Secretary of Society for Emergency Medicine India (SEMI)

Having gained his Quality and Patient Safety training experience from Consortium of Accredited Health care Organizations, India (CAHO) and Association of Healthcare Providers India (AHPI) he was instrumental in designing and bringing EM standards quality training program, Disaster Life Support Program, National Cardiac Life Support Training Programs by SEMI and CAHO and Implemented a Fellowship in Emergency Medicine certification course under SEMI in 2009 for which he was awarded as “Pioneer in SEMI Academics”.

Read more

He is also the editor in chief of health QUEST – first of its kind EM safety guidelines for India drafted from quality best practices of Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO)

He continues to work towards improving governance and quality control in EM and beyond
and was awarded “Young Quality Achiever 2018” award by Consortium of Accredited Healthcare Organizations, India in 2018 for his work towards patient safety and quality improvement.

He is working towards sensitizing Indian EM departments in quality and patient safety, and has various awards and publications to his credit and has delivered multiple guests lecture in Quality, Patient Safety, Health Policy in Patient Safety, Technology in Healthcare across India and abroad.

View all Members

Riyad Abu-Laban | Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians

Keihan Golshani | Iranian Society of Emergency Medicine

Melinda Truesdale | Australasian College for Emergency Medicine

Tom Hughes | Royal College of Emergency Medicine

Stephanie Kayden | American College of Emergency Physicians

Valerie Krym | Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians

Gregory Luke Larkin  | American College of Emergency Physicians

Sally McCarthy | Australasian College for Emergency Medicine

Mohamed Alwi Abdul Rahman | College of Emergency Physicians, Academy of Medicine Malaysia

Shada Rouhani | Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians

Abraham Wai | Hong Kong College of Emergency Medicine

Grzegorz | Walligora | Polish Society for Emergency Medicine

Jim Ducharme | President | Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians

Work and achievements

Business Models
The committee runs workshops to provide expertise and consultation in matters of specialty implementation, and monitors working condition reports and responds to requests in relation to sustainable working conditions.

Developing Professional Networks
At ICEM2019 the committee held a Trainee Special Interest Group organizational meeting. The committee provides mentorship and may assist in creating bylaws and finding consultant level support for organizations, as well as pilot sharing ongoing trainee education sessions between sites.

Modelling Emergency Systems
At ICEM2020 the SIC plans to implement an advocacy workshop with a complimentary toolkit. The SIC also works to model EM systems to those building their programs and plans to offer IFEM “New Member” webinars to introduce IFEM SIC services and to assist in mentorship in the coming year. The Committee also continues its work on the Efficacy of Emergency Medicine Project.

This page is also available in: Spanish