Trauma Special Interest Group

Trauma Special Interest Group

Role of the Trauma Special Interest Group:

  • Develop links with International Trauma Care organizations (eg WHO) to assist with the development of minimum standards of care for injured patients
  • Actively contribute to ICEM meetings by contributing trauma-related sessions and workshops related to the provision of evidence-based trauma care
  • Develop evidence-based clinical practice guidelines for the provision of trauma care across a range of resource rich and poor countries
  • Develop a white paper on trauma system minimum standards as a model for  trauma system development in countries with limited resources


Associate Professor Anthony Joseph | Chair
Australasian College for Emergency Medicine

Dr Joseph is the current Co-Director of the Trauma Service and senior Staff Specialist in the Emergency Department at Royal North Shore Hospital. He is also a Clinical Associate Professor at the Sydney Medical School, University of Sydney. He is a past –President and co-founder of the Australasian Trauma Society (ATS). He is the current Chair of the ATS Program Committee and has been Chair of both the Organising and Scientific Committees for most of the Annual Scientific Meetings since the formation of the ATS. He has held numerous positions as Chair and member of committees for the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine and was a member of the ACEM Court of Examiners from 2002 to 2018. He is a currently active EMST Course Director and Instructor.

Read more

He has held positions on various Australasian Medical Association Committees and was awarded the AMA (NSW) President’s Award in 2008 for his advocacy for Emergency Medicine and NSW Public Hospitals.  He has also been a previous Chair of the NSW Faculty of the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine He is the current Chair of the International Federation of Emergency Medicine Trauma Special Interest Group and has been an advocate for improved road safety strategies in Australia. He is an author or co-author on over 35 publications published in peer-reviewed journals and has authored 6 chapters in medical textbooks. His research and teaching interests include emergency ultrasound, trauma radiology, mental health issues after trauma and trauma in the older person. He is currently a reviewer for articles submitted to the Injury, Emergency Medicine Australasia, and the European Journal of Emergency Medicine journals. He has been an invited speaker at over 60 national and international meetings on a variety of subjects including emergency medicine, emergency ultrasound and trauma topics.

View all Members

Greg Waligora

James Ducharme

Paul Ho

Jim Holliman

Freda Berlanga

Narendra Nath Jena

James Kwan

Liqi Chiu

Benjamin Wachira

Mohammad Assad Hassan

Whitney Bryant

Mark Fitzgerald

Katherine Grindley

Shabana Parvez

Mani Rajee

Navjeet Singh

Maw Maw Oo

Erin Simon

Darius Timmler

Adel Aziz

Adam Laytin

Rubia Sultana

Resources and Training

“White Paper on Guidelines for the development of International Trauma Systems”  

Executive summary of the White paper:
This White Paper has been produced by the International Federation of Emergency Medicine (IFEM) Trauma Special Interest Group (SIG) in order to provide a framework for the assessment and development of Trauma systems. This paper is based on best current international evidence which shows that well developed Trauma Systems improve patient outcomes. The paper provides a framework for clinical staff, who provide care for seriously injured patients, to assess their own Trauma Systems and inform further development as appropriate. The main goal of this paper is to provide a mechanism for improvement in Trauma System development based on current needs and resources.

Download full paper

Member countries are encouraged to read the document and use any parts of it that may assist in Trauma System Development in their own country.

This page is also available in: Spanish