Foundational Pediatric Emergency Medicine: Key Updates for the First 60 Days of Life

See you there

When

September 05, 2024 at 3:00pm - 6:30pm

Contact

Jo Tyler

x
tickets
x
tickets
x
tickets
x
tickets

Foundational Pediatric Emergency Medicine: Key Updates for the First 60 Days of Life

Target audience

Doctors in Europe, the UK, and Africa. This includes trainees, primary care doctors, and emergency medicine doctors, particularly those who deal with general emergency medicine.

This education is crucial for trainees, primary care doctors, and emergency medicine doctors who work in emergency departments that see a mix of patients of all ages. These presentations can help reduce the anxiety often associated with treating very young patients by providing thorough and up-to-date education. Additionally, some doctors require continuing medical education hours in pediatric emergency medicine to fulfill their national registration requirements, and this event can help meet that need.

 

Learning objectives

Identify Common Emergencies:

  • Recognize some common types of emergencies that occur within the first 60 days of life.
  • Understand the clinical presentations and initial assessment strategies for these emergencies.

Diagnose and Manage Neonatal Emergencies:

  • Develop skills to promptly diagnose and manage common acute pediatric conditions, occult injuries, respiratory distress, cardiac arrythmias, sepsis, intestinal emergencies, and sepsis.
  • Implement evidence-based protocols for the management of these emergencies.

 

Program

3:00 pm Welcome  
3:00 pm Common Conundrums in the First Month of Life:
- GERD in the infant
- Common rashes, including diaper rashes
- Formula mishaps (under or overdilation)
 
3:35 pm Hidden Harm: Detecting Occult Injuries and Child Physical Abuse Dana Kaplan, MD
4:05 pm Early Life Respiratory Emergencies: Managing Bronchiolitis Jessica Foltin, MD
4:35 pm Break  
4:50 pm Heart: Arrhythmias  
5:20 pm Navigating Neonatal Intestinal Emergencies: Volvulus, and Necrotizing Enterocolitis Yvonne Giunta, MD
5:50 pm Critical Infections in Newborns: Managing Sepsis, Meningitis, Pneumonia, and UTIs Isabel Barata, MD
6:30 pm Close  

 

Dates

Thursday, 5 September 2024, 3:00 pm-6:30 pm UTC

[London 4:00 pm | 1:00 am AEST | 11:00 pm HKT | 3:00 am NZST | 5:00 pm CEST | 7:00 pm GST | 11:00 am EDT | 8:00 am PDT]

Check your local time: https://savvytime.com/converter

 

All delegates will receive:

  • Attendance at session
  • Certificate of completion
  • Link to the recorded session

 

Course fees

$75 AUD - High- and Middle-Income Countries

$7 AUD - Low- and Lower-Middle Income Countries

$20 AUD – Allied Health High- and Middle-Income Countries

$7 AUD – Allied Health Low- and Lower-Middle Income Countries

Note - prices above are in Australian dollars, approximately 0.65 US dollars. Click here to check the cost in your currency.